Attention, WhatsApp users – the popular messaging service is adding another tool to the arsenal of snooty group chat administrators.
As I spotted it WABetaInfo (Opens in a new tab)WhatsApp is working on a new update that gives admins the ability to delete any and all messages sent in group chats they supervise. Currently, messages can only be deleted by the users who originally sent them, but this new feature – which will be in beta soon – will share the privilege with administrators.
However, all group participants will be notified if and when the administrator deletes a group message, and administrators will be warned of this fact before the option to do so is confirmed.
As part of an imminent update to the app, WhatsApp users will also be given more time to delete embarrassing or mistimed group chat messages (let’s be honest: we’ve all been there…).
The Delete For Everyone feature, which currently remains active for 1 hour 8 minutes 16 seconds after the message has been sent, will soon be extended to 2 days 12 hours.
As I mentioned SamMobile (Opens in a new tab)After it was previously included in WhatsApp 18.104.22.168 beta, this extended time is already available to some Android users and is expected to roll out to all WhatsApp users in an upcoming software update.
The ability to delete group WhatsApp messages has undoubtedly proven a useful feature for millions of carefree text messages in recent years, whose occasional drunk or mistaken messages have been quickly banished from their group chats.
Simply put, the latest update of WhatsApp will give users a handy option to delete said messages the next morning – not within an hour of sending them…