September 27, 2023
Getty Images

On Saturday afternoon in Philadelphia, the St. Louis Cardinals made history against right-hander Kyle Gibson. They became the eleventh team in history to score four consecutive home runs. Or, in a tongue-twisting way perhaps to say it, they passed from back to back to back.

The inning started innocently enough, as Gibson retired the first two hits before a single by Paul Goldschmidt. Then Nolan Arenado went to the yard and was working. Nolan Gorman, Juan Ypez and Dylan Carlson followed with their long balls:

As noted, this only happened 10 times before. Quick summary:

  • 2020 White Sox, August 16: Yoán Moncada, Yasmani Grandal, José Abreu, Eloy Jiménez
  • 2019 Citizens, June 9: Howie Kendrick, Trea Turner, Adam Eaton, Anthony Rendon
  • Nationals 2017, July 27: Brian Goodwin, Wilmer Defoe, Bryce Harper, Ryan Zimmerman
  • 2010 Diamondbacks, August 11: Adam LaRouche, Miguel Monteiro, Mark Reynolds, Stephen Drew
  • 2008 White Sox, August 14: Jim Tom, Paul Conerco, Alexei Ramirez, Juan Uribe
  • 2007 Red Sox, April 22: Manny Ramirez, J.D. Drew, Mike Lowell, Jason Varitek
  • 2006 Dodgers, September 18: Jeff Kent, J.D. Drew, Russell Martin, Marlon Anderson
  • 1964 Twins, May 2nd: Tony Oliva, Bob Allison, Jimmy Hall, Harmon Cillebro
  • 1963 The Indians, July 31: Woody Heald, Pedro Ramos, Tito Francona, Larry Brown
  • 1961 Braves, June 8: Eddie Matthews, Hank Aaron, Joe Adcock, Frank Thomas

There is potential for some trivia fun out there.

Saturday’s Cardinals came in behind the Brewers by two games at NL Central.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *